The 2016-17 AOSA Executive Council, Secretary Christin DeMoss (PCO), President Erick Henderson (SCO), Vice President Lauren Fereday (MCPHS University) and Treasurer Evan Tirado (NECO)

The 2016-17 AOSA Executive Council, Secretary Christin DeMoss (PCO), President Erick Henderson (SCO), Vice President Lauren Fereday (MCPHS University) and Treasurer Evan Tirado (NECO)

Four new officers for the American Optometric Student Association (AOSA) Executive Council began their terms at the April 2016 Transition meeting in St. Louis:

  • President Erick Henderson, Southern College of Optometry (Memphis, TN)  from Danville, IL, the 49th student to serve as president of the AOSA. Henderson graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Biology from Illinois Wesleyan University prior to starting at Southern College of Optometry.  At SCO, he is the recipient of multiple scholarships and is active with, the Student Society of the Tennessee Association of Optometric Physicians and the Neuro-Optometric Rehabilitation Association.
  • Vice President Lauren Fereday, MCPHS University School of Optometry. Originally from Slidell, LA, Fereday holds an Honors Bachelor’s degree in Biology from Loyola University and a Master’s degree in Health Care Management from the University of New Orleans. She has been a teaching assistant at MCPHS University.
  • Treasurer Evan Tirado, New England College of Optometry. Originally from New York, Tirado holds an Associate’s degree in Ophthalmic Science from Raritan Valley Community College and a Bachelor’s degree in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry from Rutgers University.  He has worked as an apprentice optician and lab manager as well as assistant bank branch manager.
  • Secretary Christin DeMoss, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University. Originally from Mohnton, PA, DeMoss holds a Bachelor’s degree in Biology with a minor in Psychology from Penn State. She has served as a teaching assistant at PCO and Penn State and as secretary of the Pennsylvania Optometric Student Association.

The four were elected at the conclusion of the annual Board of Trustees meeting in Jacksonville, FL, where 46 trustees, representing each of the schools and colleges of optometry, convened Jan. 6-9, 2016.

The AOSA represents more than 6,600 students attending the 23 schools and colleges of optometry throughout the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico. Each school has a unique AOSA chapter which works hard to represent the interests of students and the profession of optometry.  The AOSA is the largest affiliate of the American Optometric Association and represents 95 percent of optometry students in the United States. Each school is represented on the AOSA Board by a Trustee and Trustee-Elect.

Duties of the Executive Council:


The President works with the Executive Council and the Executive Director to advise the Board of Trustees, appoint committee chairpersons and National Liaisons, and facilitate the development of programs to benefit the association and its members. The President represents this organization at affiliated meetings and serves as National Liaison to the National Board of Examiners in Optometry.

Vice President

The Vice President assumes the function of the President in the event of the President’s failure or inability to perform the duties of office. The VP communicates directly with committee chairs appointed by the President and is directly responsible for these committees to the President and Council. The VP also serves as Parliamentarian at Board of Trustees’ meetings, along with preparing the agenda and arranging for speakers to address the Board of Trustees’ Meetings at the Annual Conference and Midyear Planning meeting. The VP calls for reports from the Trustees and Liaisons for the two annual meetings, and serves as the National Liaison to the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry (ARBO).


The Secretary is responsible for keeping accurate records of the minutes, voting, and policies of the Board of Trustees and Executive Council. In conjunction with the Executive Director, the Secretary serves as the editor of Foresight, the national optometric student publication. Communication between the Trustees and the Executive Council is maintained by the Secretary. As the chair of the Website Committee, the Secretary is also responsible for maintenance of the website.


The Treasurer’s main responsibilities include co-signing checks, making necessary changes to the budget, coordinating benefit acquisitions, confirming that benefits have been received, and setting up regularly scheduled conference calls. Furthermore, the Treasurer maintains industry relations while trying to secure new benefits and sponsorship. The Treasurer is also the chair of the Benefits Committee and tallies the results of the benefits survey.

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *